Cart 0

About us

The Insects are Tim Norfolk & Bob Locke.

Based in Bristol UK,they established themselves in the early 90’s as film composers writing music for numerous wildlife documentaries produced the by BBC Natural History Unit and National Geographic. They won an EMMY award for the score to Arctic Kingdom: Life at the Edge.

A growing reputation led to commissions for numerous TV dramas – from crime thrillers to romantic comedy to Sci Fi and animation – and including all 6 series of the psychological thriller TV series Wire in the Blood. More recent BBC One dramas include Death comes to Pemberley (2013) and The Living and the Dead (2016).

The Insects also wrote and produced soundtracks for a number of feature films – whose casts includes such acting luminaries as Phillip Seymour Hoffman, John Hurt, Mark Ruffalo, Franka Potente,Ian McShane,Trevor Eve,Robson Green,Ray Winstone,Anna Maxwell Martin,Matthew Rhys,Jenna Coleman and Matthew Goode.

As producers and songwriters they were an integral part of the 90’s ‘Bristol’ sound, contributing tracks for Massive Attack and Goldfrapp. They produced the critically acclaimed Alison Moyet album Hometime, and wrote and produced as members of The Flies,whose album  'All Too Human' was described as ‘…the Velvets on a David Lynch set..” A track from the album was used on a L’Oreal TV Ad.

More recently The Insects received a writing credit on 'Freestyle 4' which features on the latest Kanye West album 'Life of Pablo'